fbpx PEIK Researchers Present at 2023 IEEE ITEC Conference and Receive Best Student Paper | University of Kentucky College of Engineering

PEIK Researchers Present at 2023 IEEE ITEC Conference and Receive Best Student Paper

September 25, 2023

Power and Energy Institute (PEIK) researchers exhibited and reported at the conference in Detroit, Michigan and took home a best student paper award. 

2023 Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Transportation Electrification Conference and Expo (ITEC)

Power and Energy Institute of Kentucky (PEIK) researchers and Pigman College of Engineering faculty Dan M. Ionel, Simone Silvestri, Jiangbiao He and Aaron Cramer, along with doctoral research students Ashutosh Timilsina, Ali Mohammadi, Donovin Lewis, Reza Ilka, Yaser Chulaee, Oluwaseun Badewa and Rosemary Alden, contributed the following papers at the 2023 edition of the International Conference on the Electrification of Transportation:  

The above papers are based on research sponsored by the National Science Foundation (NSF), the Department of Energy (DOE), and by industrial sponsors and collaborators QM Power, Inc., and ANSYS, Inc. The papers also feature collaborative research with colleagues from the Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL) and University of North Carolina at Charlotte (UNCC). Authors’ versions of the manuscripts are available online as PDFs from the websites of the participating PEIK at UK research labs and the UKnowledge repository.

The group also exhibited innovative electric motor and power electronic prototypes and simulation software demonstrations.

Shown in the photo above, alongside the UK group, are colleagues and alumni Vandana Rallabandi, R&D staff at the Oak Ridge National Laboratory and Pranoy Roy, lead engineer at Eaton Research Labs. 

IEEE 2023 ITEC - Best Student Paper Award

The award-winning paper, “Axial Flux Permanent Magnet Vernier Machine with Single-wound Dual-stator and Spoke Permanent Magnet Rotor for Electric Vehicle In-wheel Traction," describes a dual-stator axial flux permanent magnet machine with a spoke-type rotor integrated into an electric vehicle wheel for direct drive applications. This design, proposed previously by the UK SPARK Laboratory, benefits from the potential for advanced cooling systems within the stator to reduce thermal losses while directly integrating the rotor into the vehicle's wheels. The innovative concept is based on advanced research sponsored by the NSF through a project that will be formally completed later this year. 

Primary author, Ali Mohammadi, a Ph.D. student in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering is shown in the photo below receiving the award from the ITEC awards chairperson. To the right of Mohammadi is Ph.D. student Matin Vatani, who stood in for paper co-author and fellow Ph.D. student Yaser Chulaee, and senior co-author and Ph.D. advisor Dan M. Ionel, SPARK Laboratory and PEIK Director and the L. Stanely Pigman Chair in Power. Additional senior co-authors of the paper are Aaron Cramer the TVA Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering and Ion G. Boldea, Professor of Electrical Engineering at the Technical University of Timisoara in Romania, who has been a collaborator, mentor, and periodic visitor to UK since the 1970’s.