fbpx News | Page 2 | University of Kentucky College of Engineering


Seay named AIChE Fellow

Jeffrey Seay, the PJC Board of Trustees Engineering Professor in the Department of Chemical and Materials Engineering, has been elected an American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AlChE) Fellow, the organization’s highest grade of membership. 

Patwardhan named new chair of biomedical engineering

Abhijit Patwardhan, professor and interim chair, has been named the chair of the F. Joseph Halcomb III, M.D. Department of Biomedical Engineering at the University of Kentucky Stanley and Karen Pigman College of Engineering.

Inspire a future engineer at E-Day 2024

The Stanley and Karen Pigman College of Engineering will host its 101st E-Day on Saturday, Feb. 24 from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. Over 100 exhibitors will set up interactive displays, demonstrations and exhibits, geared toward a K-12 audience. 

Stamatiadis wins best paper award

Nick Stamatiadis, a professor in the Department of Civil Engineering, was the 2023 recipient of the Transportation Research Board (TRB) Performance Effects of Geometric Design AKD10 Best Paper Award.

Pigman College of Engineering researchers among top 2% of world’s most-cited

143 current UK scientists and scholars were included on the list compiled by Stanford University in a partnership with Elsevier, and 22 of those included are UK Pigman College of Engineering faculty. 

PEIK and SPARK Researchers Receive IEEE EMC ECCE Paper Award

Power and Energy Institute of Kentucky (PEIK) and SPARK Lab researchers received from the IEEE Industry Applications Society Electric Machines Committee (EMC) the Energy Conversion Congress and Exposition (ECCE) Second Prize Paper Award for the article: “Winding Losses in Coreless Axial Flux PM Machines with Wave and Spiral PCB Stator Topologies”.

Cramer Named New Chair of Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

TVA Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering Aaron Cramer has been named the next chair of the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering. Cramer will assume this role effective Jan. 1, 2024.

Stephens Launches NASA Propulsion Technology Outreach Program

Scott Stephens, professor in the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, organized the NASA Propulsion Technology Outreach Program for high school students in eastern Kentucky. 

Chemical Engineering Students Win at AIChE Conference

Last month, chemical engineering undergraduate students and faculty advisor, Anastasia Hauser, attended the 2023 American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE) Annual Student Conference in Orlando, Florida. 

Agioutantis Receives Howard N. Eavenson Award

Zach Agioutantis, professor and chair of the Department of Mining Engineering, has received the 2024 Howard N. Eavenson Award from the Society for Mining, Metallurgy & Exploration.